Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick | Book Review

(Hush, Hush #2)

Published: October 19th 2010

Synopsis:

Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it. A mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He’s more elusive than ever (if that’s possible) and what’s worse, he seems to be spending time with Nora’s archenemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadn’t been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude, Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feelings that he is hiding something.

If that weren’t enough, Nora is haunted by images of her murdered father, and comes to question whether her Nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death. Desperate to figure out what happened, she puts herself in increasingly dangerous situations to get the answer. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.


My Rating: 4 stars 4/5 (Really Good)

Book Information

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Genre(s): Young-adult Paranormal Romance

Page Count: 427

Format: Hardcover

ISBN: 1416989439


 

Hey there! I recently finished Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick, (like I mentioned Thursday) the second book to Hush, Hush and I just had to write a review. So here I go!

First off, I just want to say that even though I’m rating this the same as the first book, I enjoyed this one more, it was really good. So don’t be hesitating by my rating, because 4 stars is actually an awesome rating. (If you check out my Rating System, you’ll see that most of the books rated 4 stars achieve the ‘favorite’ status.) I would say I had reasonable expectations, considering my rating and reading experience of Hush Hush, and my expectations have definitely been met, and left me quite satisfied. (Although I was unhappy at first because of the killer cliffhanger! ;))Read More »

Exploring My Bookshelves #1 (April 17)

Hi, me again! (Duh, who else?) 🙂 Like I mentioned in my New Memes post, I will be starting 2 new memes here at Book Snacks, and one of them is Exploring My Bookshelves, hosted by Victoria @ Addlepates and Book Nerds every Friday (along with Friday Finds). Please check out her blog, ’cause it’s awesome! 😉

Let’s get started!

Rules:

1. Post a picture of our bookshelves (preferably literal, but e-book shelves work too)

2. Follow the theme/question about the books on our shelf that Victoria will have set out for us for that week. (Eg. favourite author, cover, etc.)

3. Include the cover and what we thought of it (if it’s read).

4. Link our post!


Like mentioned above, a picture of an actual bookshelf if preferred, however I will be posting my Kobo e-book shelves instead.

IMG_1422[1]

This week’s requirement is Something set somewhere very different to where you live. 🙂

There are so many books I could choose for this (Harry Potter, anyone?), but I’ll go with the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu. This was an amazing trilogy, and if you read my reviews on the first two novels, you know my thoughts on it. The Legend trilogy is a dystopia, set in a futuristic United States; the Republic. Everything is turned upside down when golden prodigy June Iparis and notorious criminal Day have to work together to save their country–and their people.

Legend trilogy by Marie Lu

So that’s it for this week’s Exploring My Bookshelves! If you participate in this meme, or even if you don’t, I’d love to read your answer for this week’s Exploring My Bookshelves! So please, link your post so I can check it out, or comment below! 🙂

Keep exploring!

-A

Recent Updates: New meme!

I know, I know. Another meme? Why? I have no idea. I already have tons! But just for some extra fun I decided I want to add more memes. I probably will abandon some anyway when my work starts piling really high, but for now, I’ll manage. 🙂

So one of them is a popular one I’ve noticed; Exploring My Bookshelves hosted by Victoria @ Addlepates & Book Nerds.

For this meme, we have to:

1. Post a picture of our bookshelves (preferably literal, but e-book shelves work too)

2. Follow the theme/question about the books on our shelf that Victoria will have set out for us for that week. (Eg. favorite author, cover, etc.)

3. Include the cover and what we thought of it (if it’s read).

4. Link our post!

So, the themes/questions set are:

17th April: something set somewhere very different to where you live

24th April: characters you want to bring to life

1st May: your most borrowed book

8th May: your least borrowed book (or one you couldn’t bear to trust others with)

This seemed lots of fun, so I decided to do it! Post coming soon!


So, that’s it for this time, Book Snackers! I’ll be posting my first Exploring My Bookshelves post soon, so keep an eye out for that! 😉

See you next time!

-A

Friday Finds #2 (April 17)

The time has come for another Friday Finds! Friday Finds is a meme hosted by MizB @ A Daily Rhythm, where we simply showcase recent books we’ve ‘found’, basically books we’ve recently added to our TBR list.

All book titles are linked to their Goodreads page.

There’s several more, but these are the first ones that came to mind. If I continued the list we’d be here a while, so I’ll leave it at this. What have you recently added to your TBR list? If you participate in this meme, I’d love to read your answers. Just link your most recent Friday Finds post in the comments below! If you don’t participate in this meme, I’d still love to hear from you, so please, comment your thoughts below.

Hope you have a wonderful day! (#TGIF)

-A