Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell | Book Review

(Stand-Alone)

Published: September 10th 2013

Synopsis:

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?
Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?
And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

“Touching and utterly real.” —  Publisher’s Weekly


My Rating: 5 stars 5/5 (Outstanding)

Book InformationFangirl bookcover

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre(s): YA Contemporary, Coming-of-age

Page Count: 433

Format: Hardcover

ISBN: 1250030951


Used for the Popsugar challenge: A Funny Book

Hey there! I was planning on posting this book review yesterday but since I was so tired I didn’t get the chance.

I absolutely LOVED this book. I just flew through the pages, and I even teared up a few times, which is pretty rare for me (although that could be attributed to my sore throat… 😉 )! This book just gave me the feels! I loved the plot, the characters, and the writing style. It’s outstanding, and completely deserving of my 5 star rating!Read More »

Story Scene

I’ve been bouncing around the idea to write a story for several months now, and I’ve finally strengthened my resolve to go through with it! Now, I’m sure I’m going to abandon it when schoolwork and exams get really tough, but for now I’m hoping to stick with it! I’ve thought about it bit, and I don’t yet have a very clear idea of the plot, but I have something, and that’s all I’m focusing on at the moment. 🙂


It’s not much, but this is what I have so far:

I am drowning. Or soon will be. The ocean encases my lower body, tugging me down. Blue waves rage around me, yet I feel fire burning my arms. I feel no pain in my arms, as if the fire is not even there. How is this possible? What air I have left is growing short, coming in quick raspy breaths, and I start to suffocate. I feel the ground tremble. My legs are pulling me under, yet my upper torso and arms are in flames. Oxygen clouds around me, and I can barely see through the smoky air. I try to fight against it all, trying to stay above water, focusing on breathing, while trying to douse the flames captured on my arms. I have no idea what is going on right now; how could I be drowning, burning and suffocating at the same time? It makes no sense. I kick and try to swim, refusing to die now. But then I had no choice; smoke blackened my vision, and the water swallowed me whole.


I’d love it if you comment and provide constructive criticism, I always have space for improvement! I’d appreciate no hateful comments, simply some advice or thoughts you may have. Thank you!

-A