Matched by Ally Condie | Book Review

(Matched #1)

Published: November 30th 2010

Synopsis:

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.


Matched_bookcover
Add to Goodreads

My Rating: 3 stars3/5 (Decent)

Book Information

Publisher: Dutton Books

Genre(s): Young-adult, utopian/dystopian, romance

Page Count: 369

Format: Hardcover

ISBN: 0525423648


I had relatively high expectations for this book, firstly because of the interesting synopsis, and secondly because of the gorgeous cover. The book wasn’t bad specifically, it just didn’t blow me away. 

Quick Summary

Matched follows 17 year-old girl Cassia Reyes as she finds herself ‘Matched’ (the person who she’s going to marry) with her best friend, Xander, an oddity in itself because citizens are usually never Matched with people they already know. Cassia is delighted, until she questions who she’s really meant to be with when she sees the face of a childhood friend/acquaintance named Ky Markham in the micro card meant to show Xander’s information. Cassia is unable to stop thinking about Ky, and Cassia begins to question the Society, throwing everything–and everyone–she believed in out of balance.

Plot

As for the plot, it was alright, but nothing that outstanding or something that I haven’t seen before, sadly. The world-building wasn’t bad, but not the best, I would say. Okay, so the Society controls basically everything. There are Officials for… basically every citizen? Not sure if that’s just my jumbled up thoughts talking, but that’s what I remember. However, I did like how the world was built, as in, there wasn’t just pages upon pages of explanation of what this world was, how they lived, etc. It just was there, and we got to understand it ourselves.

Characters

I wanted to connect with these characters, but for some reason, I just couldn’t. Especially with the main characters. If I didn’t enjoy the other characters, I would’ve at least wanted to enjoy the main characters. Cassia seemed a bit uninteresting and didn’t have much to her as I would’ve liked. In the moments where she actually did something that didn’t make her boring, I could see a glance of what she could’ve become, but sadly wasn’t. Xander and Ky were the two guys in the unnecessary love triangle (remember what I said about love triangle not bothering me? Well this one is definitely an exception) and sadly I wasn’t as into them as I usually am. :/

 

Writing Style

The writing style was a bit lyrical, which was nice. However, the main problem I had with the writing style is the structure. I saw no good format during the book; no actual climax, no character development. Nothing drove this book other than Cassia and Ky’s romance. Who’s the antagonist? The whole Society? The one Society official who told Cassia to forget about Ky(who I barely even remember due to her name being mentioned, like, once)? What kind of characters are these, might I ask?

Then lastly we have the anti-climactic ending. I don’t want to give any spoilers, but it was just…I’m out of words. I would’ve thought at least there would be a better ending to the book, but alas, there wasn’t.

Overall…

An okay book. As I’m looking at this review, I’m realizing that I have quite a few complaints, and I just wanted to make it clear that I did not hate the book, and I’m not trying to bash the book negatively in any way. I know lots of people enjoyed this, but it just wasn’t for me. If you’ve read Matched, be sure to tell me your opinion in the comment section below, because I’d love to hear what you thought about this book! If you haven’t read this book, please don’t be daunted by my review! If it’s something that interests you, go for it. I don’t want to influence you to not read something that you might really enjoy. It sadly did not live up to my expectations. Hopefully it will live up to yours!

Don’t forget to check out the book trailer below, by the way!

If you’re hungry, scram and go eat this!

-A

Born at Midnight by C.C Hunter | Book Review

(Shadow Falls #1) 

Published: March 29th 2011

Synopsis:

One night Kylie Galen finds herself at the wrong party, with the wrong people, and it changes her life forever. Her mother ships her off to Shadow Falls—a camp for troubled teens, and within hours of arriving, it becomes painfully clear that her fellow campers aren’t just “troubled.” Here at Shadow Falls, vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, witches and fairies train side by side—learning to harness their powers, control their magic and live in the normal world.

Kylie’s never felt normal, but surely she doesn’t belong here with a bunch of paranormal freaks either. Or does she? They insist Kylie is one of them, and that she was brought here for a reason. As if life wasn’t complicated enough, enter Derek and Lucas. Derek’s a half-fae who’s determined to be her boyfriend, and Lucas is a smokin’ hot werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past. Both Derek and Lucas couldn’t be more different, but they both have a powerful hold on her heart.

Even though Kylie feels deeply uncertain about everything, one thing is becoming painfully clear—Shadow Falls is exactly where she belongs…


My Rating: 4 stars4/5 (Very Good)Born at Midnight_bookcover2

Book Information

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre(s): Young-adult Paranormal Romance, Fantasy

Page Count: 398

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 0312624670


It’s been a while since I posted an actual book review so… Let’s get started!

If I had started to write this review right after I finished it, it would’ve probably gotten 5 stars. But as I was thinking more about it, I had to go with 4 stars. Like my other book reviews rated 4 stars, this isn’t a bad book, just not an ‘outstanding’ book.

Shadow Falls series

Read More »

My Favorite First Lines!

Hiya there! Here’s another fun tag!

Thanks goes to Eliza @ Thebookishuniverse for introducing this tag to me, so…let’s get started. (Note: For some, I may do the first two or three lines instead of just one.)

“There was a demon in McDonald’s. And it had a powerful hunger for Big Macs.”

-Jennifer L. Armentrout, White Hot Kiss

Love this line! Made me continue reading, and smile as well!

“Nothing about this room is real.” 

-Amie Kaufman, These Broken Stars

There’s only 1 word to describe this first sentence (for me, anyway): captivating.

“I emerge from the simulation with a yell.”

-Veronica Roth, The Transfer: A Divergent Story

I enjoyed Veronica Roth’s Divergent series, and the Four collection of short stories was a nice addition. Needless to say, the one from The Transfer is one of my favorites.

Read More »