Book News | The Mortal Instruments TV Show + Jace Casting

I wasn’t planning on posting today, but this recent news I found out about compels me to. If you haven’t guessed from the title of this post, the recent news in question is about The Mortal Instruments TV show!

Yep, you heard me!

Cassandra Clare’s worldwide best-selling YA series The Mortal Instruments has been picked up by ABC Family to be turned into a TV show.

Totally me at this moment! 🙂

Since the City of Bones movie was a disappointment in comparison with the book, I am super excited to see how the producers will be filming the show (which is being named ‘Shadowhunters’). I mean, the movie was okay, but it didn’t do the book justice at all.

There has not been much casting information yet except for the male lead of Jace Wayland: it will be played by Dominic Sherwood, previously seen in the film production of Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters based on the book by Richelle Mead. Previous Mortal Instruments stars Lily Collins and Jamie Campbell-Bower do not seem to be returning for the TV show, presumedly because ‘Shadowhunters’ is to have a clean slate and distance itself a bit from the box-office flop movie released in 2013.

For more information about production, etc. press HERE.

I for one, am looking forward to seeing how the show will hit off! I really hope this time the producers will stick more to the books! I’m fine with a bit of tweaking here and there, but to change it up a lot results in a flop, and I do hope they realize that.

So, are you excited for this show, or do you think it’s not worth your time? What do you think about Dominic Sherwood playing Jace? Comment below! I’d love to hear from you. ❤

-A

Tiger’s Promise by Colleen Houck | Book Review

(Tiger’s Saga #0.5)

Published: June 1st 2014

Synopsis:

Before the curse, there was a promise. A prequel to the bestselling Tiger’s Curse series, this much anticipated novella recalls the beginning of Ren and Kishan’s story. Before Kelsey there was a girl, raised by a villain, whose love for a hero changed the course of history.

Trapped under the thumb of her abusive and powerful father Lokesh, Yesubai struggles to keep her own magical abilities secret while evading his dark powers. When Lokesh promises Yesubai to the prince of a neighboring kingdom, she becomes the central pawn in his plot to destroy the ruling family and take power for himself. Yesubai is trapped by her father’s threats and desperate to protect the man she comes to love, but she knows that any decision she makes will have dire consequences. As dark forces gather around her, Yesubai must decide if she’s willing to reveal that somewhere deep within her she has the power to change everything.


My rating: 5 stars 5/5 (Outstanding)Tiger's Promise_bookcover

Book Information

Publisher: CreateSpace

Genre(s): Young-adult Fantasy Romance

Page Count: 120

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 1499104987


 Used for the Popsugar challenge: A book set in a different country

My reading for the Popsugar Reading Challenge has begun! So, one of the requirements for the challenge is ‘A book set in a different country’. The book, or more accurately, the novella I’ve chosen for this one is Tiger’s Promise by Colleen Houck. Thanks to the wonderful bloggers who answered my questions surrounding novellas and re-reads! I wasn’t sure whether novellas or re-reads count, but I am now assured they do. 🙂 Read More »