My Favorite First Lines!

Hiya there! Here’s another fun tag!

Thanks goes to Eliza @ Thebookishuniverse for introducing this tag to me, so…let’s get started. (Note: For some, I may do the first two or three lines instead of just one.)

“There was a demon in McDonald’s. And it had a powerful hunger for Big Macs.”

-Jennifer L. Armentrout, White Hot Kiss

Love this line! Made me continue reading, and smile as well!

“Nothing about this room is real.” 

-Amie Kaufman, These Broken Stars

There’s only 1 word to describe this first sentence (for me, anyway): captivating.

“I emerge from the simulation with a yell.”

-Veronica Roth, The Transfer: A Divergent Story

I enjoyed Veronica Roth’s Divergent series, and the Four collection of short stories was a nice addition. Needless to say, the one from The Transfer is one of my favorites.

“I wait. They keep us in the dark for so long that we lose sense of our eyelids. We sleep huddled together like rats, staring out, and dream of our bodies swaying.” 

-Lauren DeStefano, Wither 

I love the immediate questions that popped into my head. Right from the start I was compelled to keep reading!

“I didn’t recognize the name on the street sign. Nothing about the rural road looked familiar or friendly. Tall, imposing trees and overgrown weeds choked the front of the dilapidated home. Windows were boarded up.”

-Jennifer L. Armentrout, Don’t Look Back

The picture here! Mysterious, dark, dangerous. Really descriptive, and I’m guessing right from the start.

“I wanted to refuse Eli, but I couldn’t after the night we’d had.”

-Stephanie Morrill, Me, Just Different

Definitely caught my attention! Made me keep reading.

“I’d never given much thought to how I would die—though I’d had reason enough in the last few months—but even if I had, I would not have imagined it like this.”

Stephenie Meyer, Twilight

Unlike some people, I don’t dislike Twilight, and this first line definitely gave me reason to keep reading!

“I felt her fear before I heard her screams.”

-Richelle Mead, Vampire Academy

Well, isn’t this something to open a book to! I can’t say much more than that, ’cause the sentence said it all.

So there we have it! I have many more favorite book lines of course, but that’s all I’m going to list for this tag! Feel free to do your own list of favorite first lines!

Until next time, bookworms! (Hopefully on a book review! Haven’t been doing much of those lately!)

-A

 

 

One thought on “My Favorite First Lines!

Leave a taste of your thoughts!

