Armchair BEA 2015 | Introduction

Armchair BEA is an online conference that runs in conjunction with Book Expo America in New York City. There are a large number of people around the world that are not able to join in the literary celebrations in the Big Apple, so Armchair BEA brings the celebration to you by allowing networking among other book bloggers, authors, and publishers as well as special coverage of the event, all from the comfort of your very own armchair. For more information, be sure to check out our FAQ page!

I found about this conference thanks to Emily @ Books and Cleverness as well as Casey @ Inspired by the Page, and I had to join! It seemed like lots of fun, so how could I resist? So to start, we have to answer a few introductory questions:

1. How long have you been blogging? Where are you from? How did you get into blogging?

I officially created this blog in February, but I started posting near the end of March. So that puts me at a bit over 2 months of blogging. I’m a Canadian, born in the States. I got into blogging when I felt like sharing the books I read with other people who would enjoy them just as much as I did. 🙂 And so a blog was my solution.

2. Why do you loving reading and blogging?

Reading carries me to another world, a world with characters who have much more interesting lives than I would ever have. It’s simply amazing! I can always lose myself when reading a story, and all my worries, my stress, everything, just slip away. Reality is such a bore sometimes, and brings such stress, it’s the best gift when I can just forget about it all by reading a great book.
As for blogging, the next best thing to reading books is sharing the books you read with others who feel the same way about books that you do. Could there be anything more incredible than fangirling over the books we love to read? The blogging community is amazing, so welcoming, and it always makes my day when there’s someone who comments and says they feel the same way about a book that I do.

3. What is your favorite genre and why?

Well, I have several favorite genres, so:

I love contemporaries, because they provide a fun, light read that always has me smiling. It occasionally brings in everyday issues, not to mention slow-burn romances that always brightens my day!
On the flip side, I love paranormal romance books as well, because they incorporate three of my favorite components: action, romance and of course, paranormal beings. I love reading about a world with different kind of creatures just as much as I love reading books about every-day life.
And then of course there’s fantasy books, which I love for the same reason about paranormal romance books, basically. Fantasy books are introducing a whole new world that are usually amazing to read about.
Lastly, dystopias. I love reading about a world that seems perfect but really isn’t, not to mention a futuristic world. It’s always a pleasure to read about a futuristic world, especially because there are so many interesting factors added in; romance, action, and great storyline.

4. What book(s) are you reading right now?

I’m currently reading 2 books: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi & Fire in Frost by Alicia Rades. I had been reading Inkheart today as well, but I literally just finished it.

5. What is the top book in your TBR pile?

I have a lot of books on my TBR, but the top 2 I can name would be P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han & A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.


So that’s it! Stay tuned for more ABEA posts in the next few days. 🙂

-A

7 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2015 | Introduction

  1. Yay another paranormal lover the best paranormal with Romance is The Women of the Otherworld series by the way! The show is yummy too and got renewed for Season 3 called Bitten! =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a taste of your thoughts!