Top 10 Tuesday #6 (May 19) | Freebie: Top Ten YA Greek Mythology Books/Series

Yay! A freebie! Top 10 Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s theme is up to us to choose! So for mine, I chose to make a list of my top 10 YA Greek Mythology books and series. I’ll be listing both books I’ve read and books that are on my TBR.

As usual, in no particular order (All titles link to their Goodreads page):

1. Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan (Read)

This series is obviously on the list. It’s the first one that popped into my head, and for good reason!

2. Covenant series by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Read)

I loved this series! It was amazing! Many people compared the series and characters to Richelle Mead’s VA series, and hated on the series as a result. I will admit there are several resemblances, but it did not ruin the books for me! If anything, they were better! (Especially since I liked the main character in Covenant, Alex, much faster than I did in VA with Rose.)

Covenant Series
Covenant Series

3. Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini (Read)

This book also involves Greek mythology, while a more different take on it. You can check out my review on the book here.

Starcrossed_bookcover

4. The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter (read)

I also liked this book. It’s a type of re-telling of the Persephone myth, and it was well-done.

The Goddess Test_bookcover

5. Abandon trilogy by Meg Cabot (read)

Another Persephone retelling, the Abandon was another enjoyable take on Persephone’s myth.

Abandon trilogy
Abandon trilogy

 

6. Goddess War trilogy by Kendare Blake (first two books read)

This is going to be an amazing trilogy, with Greek gods and goddesses as the main characters. The third book is going to be released September 22nd this year, and I’m so excited! ❤

7. The Gatekeeper’s Sons by Eva Pohler (TBR)

I’ve heard lots of good things about this modernized Greek mythology 6-book series, and I’m eager to start them!

Gatekeeper's Sons Box Set

8. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (TBR)

I’ve heard several praises on this book as well, and I can’t wait ’till I read it!

The Song of Achilles_bookcover

9. Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis (TBR)

Another Persephone retelling! I’m interested in seeing how the authors changed up the traditional Persephone myth to make it her own.

Persephone_bookcover

 

10. Betrayal by Mayandree Michel (TBR)

Debut novel of Mayandree Michel, Betrayal follows a girl who is the descendant of Greek gods. Seems very interesting, can’t wait to read it!

The Descendants #1

 


So that’s it for this week’s Top 10 Tuesday freebie on Greek mythology books/series! What themes have you done your Top 10 Tuesdays on? I’d love to know them as well as your book picks, so simply link your posts below or comment! ❤

Happy Tuesday!

-A

22 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #6 (May 19) | Freebie: Top Ten YA Greek Mythology Books/Series

  1. This was a really great topic you chose! I loved all the Percy Jackson books. I’ve been wanting to find other books with Greek mythology, so I’m glad you posted this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked star-crossed and the goddess test both, though I haven’t read through all of the books for each yet. What an original topic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve read Mortal Gods, but as Ungodly hasn’t been released yet, I can’t really say personally! ❤ It's gonna be an amazing trilogy, that's all I can say; Mortal Gods was amazing! 😀 You HAVE to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I didn’t even notice that, sorry!
        Antigodddess was nice but the first half was a little slow. But that ending was just…. ahhh!
        Now you’re making me curious about what happens! Can’t wait to read it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE GREEK MYTHOLOGY especially in books! Yes, obviously Rick Riordan’s books must be added in!
    I’m so glad to see you tackle this topic because I am in need of more Greek mythology books. I really want to read The Goddess Test and Starcrossed (plus the author has the same name as me) because they sound great! And now I’ve got a bunch of now books to add to my TBR 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha ha yeah, isn’t it just the best? ❤
      I'm a totally fan of Greek mythology books, and I realized there actually are so many other Greek mythology books I have to get to while making this list! 😀 The Goddess Test & Starcrossed are definitely books I recommend, hope you enjoy them!
      TBR basically explains my reading life 24/7, ha ha. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh, Analee, this is a fantastic list! I’ve read The Percy Jackson and the Olympian series (and some of the Heroes of Olympus) but haven’t really ventured out with this subgenre. Some of these have been on my TBR list for a while now but I’ve added a few more thanks to your post. 😀

    Like

Leave a taste of your thoughts!