The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award Part Two

I’ve recently posted The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award, and since it was so long, I decided to break it into two parts. Also, I’d like to thank Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much for nominating me for the award as well! Thank you so, so, much, it means so much to me that there are so many bloggers out there who enjoy my blog! ❤ If you haven’t checked out her blog already, do so now, because her blog is great and definitely one of my favorites. 😉

So, in this half, I have the answers to Zin’s questions, Erika, Hadjar, Jessica, The Write Stuff & Tash’s questions, and Catia’s questions.


Questions from Zin:

1. Are you working on writing a book or planning to publish one a few years from now?

I am attempting to write a book, actually! I’ve kind of abandoned it for the time being, but I’m working on it. 🙂 I have no idea where I want to take it, or if I’m going to publish it, but who knows?

2. Second-hand or first-hand books?

It doesn’t matter to me that much, as long as the secondhand books are in good condition. If I had to choose, of course I’d go with firsthand books, but if a secondhand book doesn’t have bended pages, stains, etc. I’m good.

3. Any weird reading habits?

Argh, this question! XD I know I have weird reading habits, but I never seem to remember them… Bhramori asked the same question and I had no answer, lol. I do have weird reading habits, I know that, but I can’t say what they are, ’cause I simply have no idea. -_-

4. Have you read a book in a language other than English?

I have read books in French, but I don’t really make a habit of it. I already speak it at school and stuff (I’m in French immersion) and there are so many books in English I have yet to read, so I don’t really get the chance. I’d like to read more French books though!

5. Any characters which will stay with you forever?

So many characters I can name!! Well, let’s see…HP characters for sure! And the Percy Jackson characters, the Angelfall characters, the Throne of Glass characters, the Dark Elements characters, the Mortal Instruments characters, the Infernal Devices characters, the Selection characters (Don’t judge!!), the Vampire Academy characters… must I go on?

6. Any book which helped you overcome an emotional obstacle?

Hmm. To be completely honest, there haven’t been many emotional obstacles I’ve had to overcome, but there have been several times where I was feeling down/sad/mad/frustrated and a book cheered me up. I remember going to Harry Potter when I was feeling frustrated with life, and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han when I felt sad about some bad news I’d gotten. There are countless other books I could mention because nearly all books put a smile on my face, no matter what! 😉

7. How many authors have you met?

Zero! 😦 I’m forever mourning that fact…

Unless you count one of my former teachers who has a book published. One of my biggest dreams though is to meet an author like Sarah J. Maas or Cassandra Clare, or any author whose book I’ve read, really.

8. How many signed copies do you own?

Sadly, only 1. Pathetic, isn’t it? I’ll get more though. Someday. Hopefully not when I’m like, 50 or something.

9. Is there any character which you desperately wish for to be real?

Um, all bookish characters? (Except for the evil people like Voldemort or something.) But specifically, Hermione Granger from Harry Potter for sure, as well as Penryn from Angelfall, or Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses (so he could fall in love with me, of course)! 😉

10. If you were to write a book, what would it be about?

I actually really don’t know! Right now my brain has no creativity whatsoever. I guess it would be cool to write about paranormal stuff like angels or something (even though that’s used a lot in the YA world) or a contemporary (although I’d suck at something like that).


Questions from Erika, Hadjar, Jessica, The Write Stuff & Tash:

1. Did you have a book that meant a lot to you as a child? 

Not specifically, but I suppose Roald Dahl’s books were (and still are) a favorite!

2. Is there any author of book that you collect and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title? 

Not really, to be honest. I mean, there are so many authors I love (J.K Rowling, for one) and would love to have multiple editions of, but I don’t really collect them. I’m focusing right now on getting new books.

3. Say that you find yourself judging a book by its cover (not that we ever do that!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off? 

There are so many different things that attract me to a cover! I would say I often go for dark, mysterious covers (like ones in YA Paranormal novels), but the same goes for the opposite; I love bright, sweet pastel covers as well (like Cecelia Ahern’s novels)! Both kind of covers appeal to me. I also like covers with pretty dresses (which is good, since half of the books these days have them) because, obviously, they’re pretty! Unusual covers are also sometimes interesting to me as well, covers with an out-of-the-ordinary design and stuff. Dystopian covers, with like a symbol or whatever are also covers I go for, and colorful covers are definitely a favorite. Oh, and books with pretty fonts are also what I look for. As for turn-offs, I have to say that I’m not the biggest fan of one-color books, or something with a small, boring font. I don’t know, I just like my things with style and pretty writing. Don’t judge. 😛

Here are some examples of covers I like:

4. If you could pick any imaginary animal to bring home to mom with an earnest, “Can we keep him??”, what animal would it be? 

Definitely a unicorn or pegasus! And a griffin! Oh, a hippocampus (from Percy Jackson) would be good too. Not to mention a phoenix! Not much to ask, now is it. 😉

5. Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, no how, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess it up?

Nope! I’m all for watching book-to-movie adaptations! I mean, I know I’ll probably be disappointed, but I always take the chance to see if I’ll actually like the movie!

6. What is the most unusual book you’ve ever read? (Plot, writing style, chapter layout, etc?)

I guess I have to say Tales of the 23rd Precinct and its sequel Frankly TWISTED by Kevin Eleven, or Aftermath by Tom Lewis. The first two books were set up quite differently than other books I’ve read, using ‘episodes’ instead of chapters, etc. Aftermath is also another unusual book because it’s a dystopian/science-fiction that was quite a short read, in contrary to usual dystopian books, which are at least 200 pages or more.

7. Is there any book or series that you’ve read that is so totally outside of your normal genre, but you loved it and would recommend it to others as a “take a risk!” type of book?

I suppose Angelfall by Susan Ee, even though it’s not really outside of my normal genre. It’s just that Angelfall is just so dark, and slightly twisted, which is kind of unusual, I guess. I absolutely loved it and I definitely recommend it!

Books8. Do you have any bookish collections, or anything you covet and hope Bath and Body Worksto someday collect? Candles, artwork, bookcases?

I have lots of bookish collections, books I want to someday add to my reading shelf. Other than that, I love collection Bath and Body Works products! I just love them. I even made a book tag based on names of Bath and Body Products!! (Which you can check out here.) Other than those two stuff, not really! Boring, I know, but what can I say? All my forces are directed to improving my book collection, and getting more beautiful scents and lotions.

9. What book has been on your TBR pile the longest, but you just can’t convince yourself to pick it Splintered_bookcoverup?

I don’t know how long this has been on my TBR, but I do know it has been on my TBR for a bit now: Splintered by A.G Howard. And the reason I haven’t read it yet is not ’cause I don’t want to read it, I do! I just can’t seem to make time for it… Hopefully I’ll be getting to it soon!

10. You get a $500 gift card for all things bookish-do you run to your nearest bookstore and spend like a fiend? Or do you create pro/con lists (a la Rory Gilmore) to make sure you get just the right and perfect and wonderful bookish things? Or are you eyeing a particularly expensive bookcase somewhere? 

I think I’d do a pro/con list! I’m a pretty big perfectionist, so making lists are kind of my thing. Afterwards I’d probably divide up the money for different bookish things; a bit for bookmarks and the like, a bit more for a not particularly expensive but still pretty and sturdy and reliable bookcase, and the rest for books. 🙂


Catia’s Questions

1. What kind of environment do you blog in? Do you schedule your blog posts a few days out or just write when the moment strikes you?

Well, I blog at home, and it’s very relaxed, usually I’m in my PJs. I do occasionally write out my posts in advance, especially if I know I’m busy or something in the following days, but usually I just write on a spur-of-the-moment kind of thing.

2.  If you could live in any fictional land or world, which would it be?

Without hesitation, Hogwarts! Harry Potter world! Whatever you want to call it. That’s where I would live, hands down!

3. What’s your favorite song right now?

Hmm.. Not sure, to be honest! I’m really into Clarity by Zedd ft. Foxed and I Want You to Know by Zedd ft. Selena Gomez right now, for some reason, and Selena Gomez’s new single Good For You has been in my head for a bit too. Also, I really like Bad Blood by Taylor Swift, so yeah!

4. What is your favourite book series and why? ( and just to be fair you can’t say Harry Potter =P)

Harry Potter! Ha ha. XD But other than Harry Potter, I guess one of my favorite book series would have to be the Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare. Yes, I know it’s not technically a series, it’s the grouping of all the cross-series Cassandra Clare’s writing with Shadowhunters, but whatever. I know there are people who doesn’t like the series, but I just really love them ’cause they’re full of action, romance and angels! And demons! I just really like that kind of stuff. 😉 Also, I really like the Throne of Glass series because the world-building and characters are just awesome. ❤

5. Who’s your favorite author and why?

Agh such a hard question! Cassandra Clare for sure, but Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer Armentrout also make the list! All these authors’ writing and books are so unique to me and whenever I read their books I’m just immersed into them, and I love that.

6. Biggest ambition?

To not fail at life! (Although I already am.) Well, for real, I guess it would be to a) travel around the world, b) have a good life and c) become an author, or professional reviewer.

7. If you were to write a book, what would it be about?

I think something paranormal would be what I would go with! I’m thinking contemporary too, ’cause I really like the contemporary genre and it would be great if I could write a book in that genre, but I don’t think I’m cut out for that kind of thing. With the paranormal idea, I really like angels and demons, but since that’s used often in YA books these days, I think I might try something else. Not sure what though…

8. Which books inspire you to write?

Almost every book I read, to be completely honest! No matter how much I enjoyed or didn’t enjoy a book, my love for books never changes, and with every book I enjoy it makes me want to come up with my own book that someone will enjoy one day the same way. If that makes any sense. So there’s not book in particular, basically just all the books that I loved (Harry Potter, TMI series, TDA series, TOG series)

9. Who are your go-to authors, the ones that you don’t even need to read the back cover to know you want to read it?

I know I answered Cassandra Clare 2 times already, but I’m going to use her again for this one, because no matter what she writes (unless it’s an adult non-fiction book or something) I’ll definitely pick up her books. Also, Sarah J. Maas, because Sarah J. Maas is simply an amazing author. Oh, Jennifer Niven too, I just loved her book All the Bright Places. ❤ And a bunch of other authors that I can’t seem to tempt myself to list. 🙂

10. What is the biggest thing you’ve learned through blogging?

Ooh this is a good question! (By good I mean hard, lol!) But let me think… blogging has taught me many things, it’s so hard to judge what the biggest thing I’ve learned would be. I suppose one of the things would be how to write good posts and reviews. My writing has gotten much better I would say now than before I started blogging, and blogging has really helped me to get the hang of writing concisely without losing my own style of voice. (Or so I hope!)


Thank you again Ashley, Becca, BhramoriEmily, Erika, Jessica, HadjarThe Write StuffZin & Catia for nominating me for this award! I already nominated the people in part one, so that’s all for this post!

Have a great day/night!

-A

One thought on “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award Part Two

Leave a taste of your thoughts!