The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak | ARC Book Review

(The Heartbreaker Chronicles #1)

Expected Publication: August 4th 2015

Synopsis:

Stella will do anything for her sick sister, Cara—even stand in line for an autographed Heartbreakers CD…for four hours. She’s totally winning best birthday gift this year. At least she met a cute boy with soft brown hair and gorgeous blue eyes while getting her caffeine fix. Too bad she’ll never see him again.

Except, Stella’s life has suddenly turned into a cheesy love song. Because Starbucks Boy is Oliver Perry – lead singer for the Heartbreakers. And even after she calls his music crap, Oliver still gives Stella his phone number. And whispers quotes from her favorite Disney movie in her ear. OMG, what is her life?

But how can Stella even think about being with Oliver — dating and laughing and pulling pranks with the band — when her sister could be dying of cancer?

Ali Novak wrote her debut novel My Life with the Walter Boys when she was just 15 years old, and has since penned her next book, The Heartbreakers. First a hit on the online community Wattpad, her second novel has over 38 million reads and is loved by readers around the world.


The Heartbreakers_bookcover
Add to Goodreads

My Rating: 4 stars 4/5 (Really Good)

Book Information

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Genre(s): Contemporary Romance, Young-Adult

Page Count: 336

Format: ebook


Note: I received an e-ARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello! Today I have for you a review on The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak. This book was amazing! I had to stay up late to finish this, it was that good. And I’m glad I did! This book is the perfect summer read, great to simply have fun, relax, and just get caught up in a cute romance.

Quick Summary

Stella would do anything for her sister, Cara, who is dying from cancer. Even standing in line for a signing from a world-famous band whose music Stella hates, The Heartbreakers, since her sister’s a die-hard fan. Stella had no idea when she met a cute guy in Starbucks that he was Oliver Perry, the lead singer of The Heartbreakers, and he had no idea that she was one of the only people who hated his music. As they get the chance to get to know eachother, Stella finds he’s not a bad guy. But how could Stella think of dating and spending time with Oliver when her sister is dying?

Plot

“When I met Oliver Perry, I had no clue he was the lead singer for The Heartbreakers. And he had no idea that I was the only girl in the world who hated his music.”

The plot, to me, felt mostly like something you shouldn’t take too seriously. This was simply a contemporary romance that will simply cheer you up with a cute story. The plot, is hardly what I’d call realistic (meeting a celebrity by chance in Starbucks? I only wish that happened to us), but that’s what I liked about it. While some people may not enjoy the unrealistic aspect of this book, I loved it because it was so much fun to read. And that’s what books are for, right? Entertainment. And this book provides you exactly with that!

What I also really loved about the plot was the touching family aspect of it, and the simultaneous light, airy feel to the book. Stella’s sister, Cara has cancer, and Stella would do anything for her, even postponing her future to stay with her. This is hardly something we see often, and their close relationship is very sweet. Drew, Stella’s brother also contributed to that. The romance itself was quite insta-lovey but I really enjoyed the light feeling to the whole thing. All in all, the plot was touching, fun and really enjoyable!

Characters

I really liked the characters! Much more than I thought I would. Stella did come off as a clichéd character, but I still liked her POV. Tying into the whole having fun reading this thing, I really liked her sass and personality. She wasn’t perfect, but she was a super fun character whose perspective was great to read, not to mention she was quite likeable and witty! Her compassion for her sister is sweet, and I was able to empathize with her. Not that I have a dying sister, but I understood her doubt of success in her abilities, and uncertainty in having so much fun with her sister sick and dying of cancer. It was great seeing her character develop from those insecurities! Stella may not be a character that everyone likes, but she’s still a fun and interesting character. Also, she’s a triplet! It might be a minor thing, but I have a thing for twins or triplets, and it was so sweet seeing her close relationship with her brother and sister.

Now moving on to Oliver, the love interest. In a life where he’s always recognized by everyone, not being recognized by Stella intrigued him. He wanted to know more about her, and I loved seeing their interactions! I really liked his character, he was sweet and the banter between him and Stella was so cute! I couldn’t help but enjoy his character, no matter how cliché he might be.

The other characters were great too, like Drew and Cara. Drew was a great brother to Stella, and Cara was so lively and positive, despite her situation. They were less developed than Stella and The Heartbreakers, but that was to be expected. I enjoyed their presence. I do wish there could’ve been some more focus on Stella’s parents; they were hardly mentioned (or that’s how it felt like, at least). It seemed too much like the clichéd missing parents kind of thing, but I was able to overlook that. I also loved the members of The Heartbreakers, and Oliver. They were childish at times, but that’s what made them so much fun to read! I loved it when Stella hung out with them, and they’re all so supportive and sweet. Overall, I really enjoyed the characters!

Writing Style

The best part of the writing was the wit and banter between Stella and Oliver. It really shows their personalities (which are both great).

Oliver shook his head. “Geez, I don’t stand a chance with you, do I?”
“Why do you say that?”
“Well, your ideal man is a vampire-werewolf hybrid who’s as swift as the coursing river and mysterious as the dark side of the moon.”
I giggled. “And the son of Zeus,”

Some parts of it kind of felt forced (in the minority) but overall The Heartbreakers had a good writing style; it was fun and light.

Overall…

I definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for a YA contemporary romance! The plot is relatively predictable and pretty unrealistic, but great for a cute summer read. This book had me hooked, I wasn’t able to put it down! It was a really good book, and if you haven’t already realized from my excessive use of the word ‘fun’, it was entertaining. I loved all the characters, and the main characters went through great development. Although I’m not always a fan of insta-love stories (I’m okay with them though, usually), this book was cute and so much fun to read. If you like contemporary romance and are looking for a summer read, this book is for you. Although, I’d suggest you stay away if you’re into books with a realistic and common plot, without insta-love. 🙂 I really enjoyed this book, it was fun, cute and hooking!

What do you say? Want to read? Don’t want to read? Let me know!

Hungry? Don’t worry, this meal will be releasing on August 4th, so don’t forget to gobble it up then!

Analee 10

6 thoughts on “The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak | ARC Book Review

  1. Great Review! I’m so glad you loved it! I felt the same way too but it was fun read and I’ve really enjoyed reading it.”Meeting a celebrity by chace in starbucks” I don’t think that’s ever going to happen LOL! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a taste of your thoughts!

