Made You Up by Francesca Zappia | Book Review

(Stand-Alone)

Published: May 19th 2015

Synopsis:

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.


Made You Up_bookcover
Add to Goodreads

My Rating: 5 stars 5/5 (Outstanding)

Book Information

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Genre(s): Contemporary, Romance, Young-Adult

Page Count: 448

Format: Hardcover


Hello! Today I have for you a review on Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. I absolutely fell in love with this book and the author, it was simply fantastic. The plot was full of unpredictable twists and throughout it all had such a cute romance! Not to mention the mental illness that the story revolved around. This is one of the few times I read a book with an unreliable narrator, and Francesca Zappia absolutely nailed it. I loved Alex, and Miles!! They were both so wonderful. No, actually, all the characters were great, and the writing style was wonderful. ❤ The praise is endless!

Quick Summary

Alex is schizophrenic. She hears things. Hallucinates. Every day she struggles to know what is real and what is made up. She’s determined to prove to her family and doctors that she’ll be able pass high school and get into college, and most of the time, it seems like she’s succeeding. But when you enter Miles into the picture, and a whole bunch of confusion between what’s real and what’s not, things get difficult. Alex was never normal. But is she ready to be?Read More »

Advertisements

2015 July Wrap-Up

Hello! July is rapidly coming to an end, can you believe it? It honestly felt like it passed in a blink of an eye. Here’s how this month has been for me!

Books I’ve read this month (Link to Goodreads): 

Books I’ve reviewed this month: 

Tags I did this month:

Book Blitzes:

Blog Tours

Award Posts:

Book News:

Top Ten Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday

WWW Wednesday 

That’s What He Said Thursday

  • #12: July 2nd (Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier)
  • #13: July 9th (Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover)

Friday Finds

Exploring My Bookshelves

Other Posts I did:


So that’s how my July month went! It was pretty productive as far as my reading is concerned. How did your month go? (Bookish or otherwise.) Let me know in the comments below, or link your wrap-up post, if you have one. 🙂

Analee 10