Blogging: Expectations vs. Reality // Wherein I get too real about the harsh truths

THE DARK TRUTHS OF BLOGGING SHALL BE REVEALED TODAY. Dun dun dunnnnnn.

Am I being a tad dramatic? Maybe. I like to think of it as preparing you for what is to come. Ahem.

Hello everyone, and I hope you guys are all enjoying your day/night/whatever time of day it is (gotta love the international aspect of blogging!).

I’m sure posts like this have been made before, but I haven’t seen many and I thought I might put my own perspective on the situation! I think almost 2 years of blogging (although I suppose the 7 months I’ve been away should be deducted) has me slightly qualified to reveal the truth behind the reality of blogging vs the expectations we (or I) have! Let’s do this.

Blogging Expectations vs Reality

Expectation #1:

“I’m going to have over 1000 followers and comments in one night, for sure! My posts are awesome.”

obviously

Reality

waiting
Waiting for followers and feedback…

Now, I don’t know about you guys, but when I first started blogging, it was way too easy to get trapped into the stats count of things. (Sometimes still is.) And the reality of it is, it is extremely rare for the stats to go sky high immediately! Having expectations such as the above will most likely not give you the results, which I learned the hard way haha. 😉 I didn’t have the exact expectation as above, but you get the idea?

Expectation #2:

“I’m going to have a perfect blogging schedule 100% of the time! I ❤ organization!”

Reality

Me trying to keep up with life and never being able to keep a proper blogging schedule...
Me trying to keep up with life and never being able to keep a proper blogging schedule…

I mean, I love organization, I swear I do! But… way too hard to keep a consistent and perfect blogging schedule ALL. THE. TIME. If you do, I swear you will find me at your feet begging you to give me your skills. As proven by my hiatuses and life in general, sometimes it’s impossible to control everything! And I’ve felt bad about leaving blogging for so long, but sometimes it’s necessary. And it’s okay. So, no, my blogging schedule was never 100% perfect, and probably never will be! And that’s okay too. 😉

Expectation #3:

“Blogging is so easy, it hardly takes any effort at all! I could do it in my sleep.”

Reality

I mean, maybe for some the above expectation *is* reality, in which case, again, I PRAISE YOU. But for most of us (I’m assuming, anyway, based on myself, haha) BLOGGING IS DIFFICULT. Lots of fun, of course! But it takes a lot of effort and dedication to run and maintain a blog, you know? Saying blogging doesn’t take effort is like saying it’s easy for me to wake up early in the morning. They’re both LIES.

Expectation #4:

“I can totally comment on all the amazing posts out there? What are you talking about, it hardly takes any time??”

Reality

If we (I) tried to keep up with commenting on all posts... also can we just appreciate this gif here?? #muppetlove
If we (I) tried to keep up with commenting on all posts… also can we just appreciate this gif here?? #muppetlove

This one still makes me sad, guys! I want so so much to be able to keep up with ALL of the great posts being posted by lovely and wonderful bloggers but it’s impossible! I love talking to other bloggers and spreading the comment love, but it actually takes a lot more time than you’d think, you know? I try to visit a bunch whenever I get the chance lately, but trying to keep up with all the posts that show up in my reader would drive me insane due to the HUGE number of them, not to mention rob me of my life haha. I do try to comment as much as I can! I love talking to you guys all. ❤

Expectation #5:

“It’s so easy to come up with new content, and my posts are so original!”

Reality

I’m not discounting the fact that there are a lot of diverse and unique material out there, but…. let’s face it, at one point, there was probably a post very similar to the one we write. It’s pretty much all been written about at some point. Sometimes it’s easy to come up with new content, sometimes not. But when it comes down to it, majority of the time, the reality is that it’s not always easy to come with new posts, or with truly original material. And that’s okay!


Okay, so this has been mostly positive expectations with a negative reality?? Let’s switch gears a bit to a more positive note for the realities, shall we? That was kind of depressing, geez.

Expectation #6:

Opposite to the “I will be so popular really fast” mentality, there is also…

“No one is going to read my posts?? I’m going to forever be stuck with 2 followers, one of which who happens to be my [mom/friend/sister/second account/whatever].”

Reality

The blogging community is huge and I promise you, as long as you interact and have good material, there will be more than a couple people interested in your blog! It’s hard to believe at first, but I guarantee it! After all, that’s exactly what I thought when I started blogging (after the realization that followers don’t come super fast) and I’ve been proven otherwise haha.

Expectation #7:

“The more experienced, “big” bloggers will probably never speak to me anyway.”

Reality

NOT TRUE. All bloggers, from my experience, no matter how long they’ve been blogging, are always welcome to chatting! Always. I haven’t met a single blogger that ignored me completely, or if I have, the number of them is so low that I can’t even recall the memory! The bloggers I have met, even the “big” bloggers (I put big in quotations because, well, it’s subjective) always manage a reply and are always super sweet. Seriously. This is the one of the biggest myths ever!

Expectation #8

“My posts have to be 100% perfect 100% of the time or else people will stop liking my posts and following me.”

Reality

Nobody’s perfect! And nobody cares if we slip up here and there. Am I right? There have been countless times where my posts have been less than great and were actually quite terrible, if I look back on them now (those archives are forbidden, guys) but it didn’t really matter? People are always so kind and it just gave me an opportunity to make my posts better for the next time.

Expectation #9:

I will never become one of those “big” bloggers! They have so many followers, oh my gosh. I’m never going to be match them.

Reality

Liessssssss! Never lose faith in your blogging abilities! I’d say not to be so occupied with stats, but it’s easier said than done sometimes. And I know how it feels to be discouraged that our blog will never be as popular as other people’s. But I mean, I never thought this blog would go past, like, 20 followers, tops? I’m not bragging, but I’ve come a long way since then and I just wanted to tell you guys, anyone who’s feeling discouraged, or just in general, don’t get discouraged. Keep blogging. Keep working. You will reach your goal! Those “big” bloggers started off at the bottom, too. And at the end of the day, it’s just a number! Don’t let it determine your value. Because you and your blog are so much more than that!

Expectation #10:

“Blogging will totally change my life.”

Reality

… You know, this is actually 100% true. In the best way possible!


Sooooo I think that wraps up the end of this post. Please comment and let me know your thoughts! Which of these do you agree with? Disagree with? Do you have any other ones to add? I’d love to know and grow my collection of blogging secrets. LOL.  I’ve also been blog hopping lately, trying to make up for my lack of participation for the past 7 months haha. Leaving a comment would make it easier for me to stop by your blog, not to mention make my day! ❤ I hope you guys enjoy your day/night. Hugs!

Until the Next Meal, Analee

51 thoughts on “Blogging: Expectations vs. Reality // Wherein I get too real about the harsh truths

  1. OMG, I LOVE THIS POST!!!
    So, the stats trap still has me in its grasps even after years of blogging. I will come up with a new feature that people even wanted and then … nothing. No feedback whatsoever and I am just like “WHAT HAVE I DONE WRONG?”, even though it mostly just means I am way too impatient.
    I only have 2 fixed posts per week though, everything else has to work without planning hahaha me + organization = not happening.
    I always feel bad for not commenting on everyone’s blog, but it’s just toooooo much! I want to give thoughtful comments, but sometimes I am lucky if I have the time to read it and give a like.
    But you are so, so right about the community. It was welcoming and people were always up for a chat. I looked up to so many people and they became my friends and it’s just such an important part of my life now.
    Very glad you are back to posting 😀 (but no pressure!)

    Liked by 2 people

    • EEE THANK YOU!! ❤️❤️ Omg I 100% get you. It’s so difficult to not have expectations for posts we work on and it can be so disappointing when those expectations aren’t met. God knows I’ve been in the clutches of the stats more times I can count! 😂 Haha I know right?? With life being so hectic and unexpected it’s extremely difficult to be organized 100% of the time omg I’m glad I’m not alone haha.

      Right??! I love talking to everyone but there are so many people and I only have so much time on my hands. 😫 All we can do is try out best, right? I appreciate that you took the time to write this lovely comment though. ❤️❤️
      Yes! When I started blogging I had no idea that it would become so important and that the bloggers I meet would be such great friends. (Like you!) haha thank you so much! That means a lot. 💘

      Like

  2. I loved this. It’s perfect. Seriously when I first started I was every single one of these (minus the whole everyone is gonna follow me instantly because my blog is awesome thing. More along the lines of OH GOD NO ONE WILL VISIT MY BLOG. ) This is definitely something new and old bloggers need to see.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are all so true! Blogging is HARD and I definitely didn’t realize that when I started. I always tell myself, “Okay, this Saturday I’m going to sit down, write a bunch of reviews, and then schedule them for the next two weeks.” But then I NEVER DO IT (I’d always rather read during that time I guess…)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG!! I love your post! ❤ I agree with all of these! I have been blogging for about 1,5 years and I have encountered all of these. Also welcome back, I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I LOVE THIS POST SO MUCH ❤
    I relate to #2 on a spiritual level.
    The stats trap has brought me down many a times but I think I'm kind of over it by now. But it sucks when you work really hard on a post and it doesn't do as well as you hoped. *sigh*
    Also, I am going to go looking for those forbidden archives you mentioned 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU!! ❤️ I love youuuu. Haha right? I always try to delude myself into thinking I’m going to be so organized but….
      Same here! It’s hard not to get concentrated on the stats. I’m glad it doesn’t affect you as much now though! It really is disappointing aha, when the response isn’t what you’d hoped it would be.
      Nooooooo my dark past must stay hidden!! 😱😂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this post so much! There are so many expectations when it comes to blogging, and even after years of being here, I am still watching my stats and wondering where I went wrong almost all of the time, but that’s the hard truth of being a perfectionist, I guess? Haha. Also, blogging does take over our lives, and I wish I could comment on all the posts, and I do my best to, but…it’s very overwhelming at times, to be honest.
    Lovely post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhhh so happy to hear that! ❤ Haha right? No matter how long it's been, it's incredibly difficult to not get caught up in the stats and worry about why a particular post isn't getting the response you'd hoped. It's an ongoing dilemma for sure! And omg yes, same here. I'd want nothing more than to be able to comment on all the posts, but it's impossible and very overwhelming, I agree! There's just too many posts and not enough time. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh man, I was so bad in my first year. I don’t think I visited a single other blog 😛 (which is bad don’t get me wrong). I really don’t know what I was thinking?! People won’t know you exist unless you get yourself out there!

    Now I like to think I have a much better handle on things. My stats might not be where I would want them in an ideal world but I love my blog and all the people I’ve met and that’s more than worth it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no! 😂 Haha I agree, it’s so important to visit other blogs. ❤️ At least the more experienced you knows better. 😜 And yes, totally! At the end of the day, no matter what the stats are, the people I’ve met and my blog makes me happy and that’s what counts! 💘 You said it very well haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Yes!!!! To all of this. I’ve been blogging for 4 years now, and I’ve experienced the huge gap between expectations and realities more times than I can count. (Especially in the realm of being able to keep up with blogging like I’d like. Oops.) But I’ve also found that the community is way warmer and more fun than I expected, so that’s a very positive expectations/realities gap. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh so glad you can relate and I’m not alone! 😂 There are so many expectations that come with blogging (or anything in general) that the reality can be quite a shock sometimes haha. Other times the reality is much more pleasant; the community was definitely one of those cases. 💘 I had not expected the warm welcome from other bloggers and the fun I’d have talking to them !

      Liked by 1 person

  9. #2 is so relatable It’s taken me eight months to figure out a schedule. Blogging can be so difficult mostly because of how much time it takes, I really didn’t know how much time it was going to take up, or how hard it can be to come up with ideas. You are right that there are no original ideas, I always reminde myself that even though tons of people might have written posts on that topic I still have something unique to bring to it. Because everyone has unique and distinctive personalities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! I’ve been blogging for almost 2 years now and my blogging schedule still changes so much. You’d never guess how much time and effort it takes to blog. 😂 And yes!! It can be so difficult to come up with ideas. But you’re absolutely right! Most posts’ topics are not original, but we read them for the blogger’s personal thoughts and twist on it. ❤️ Everyone is different which is what make unoriginal topics into unique posts!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I agree with so many of them!! SO RELATABLE!! 😂 My worst one is “oh I have time to answer comments and visit everyone’s blogs”…hahhaah. Nope. Time is against me constantly. CAN WE GET TIME TURNERS SO WE CAN VISIT ALL THE EPIC BLOGS OF EVER MAYBE?!?😂 Also my expectation of blogging was always that it’ll be super easy and fast to whip up a post. Well…not really. Sometimes I take days to get a post ready to go up!! Blogging is super fun but definitely not easy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aha glad to hear I’m not alone in having ALL of the expectations lol. Right??! Time conspires against all of us omg I NEED A TIME TURNER yes please. Would solve so many problems. 😂 omg yeah! It can take so long to come up with a blog post, and it takes a lot of effort! And yup that’s perfectly put. I love it, but it requires copious amounts of effort and work. 😊

      Like

  11. I really love this post Analee. I think most bloggers have had most of these expectations at one point or another, if not all of them. I remember when I first started out blogging I thought I’d be lucky to have even one person reading my posts. I never in a million years imagined I get to the point I am now. Talking to pro bloggers was a challenge as well, thinking they’d never have the time to reply to a comment from my small blog! 😀
    One of the expectations I had which has been blown out the water was the time it takes to blog. The longer I’ve been blogging the more time it’s taken me each day. I love it don’t get me wrong but I was under a major misconception about that aspect.
    Blogging has definitely changed my life though, you’re right about that one. XD
    Again amazing post! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yayy glad to hear it! ❤️ Aha I know right? I never thought I would have more than a couple followers reading my posts; it’s still surreal sometimes! Haha yeah same here. 😊
      Omg yesssss. SO MUCH TIME goes into blogging and I never ever thought it took this much work! I love it too, but it is definitely something that took me by surprise as well. Aha thank you! 💘

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Haha, I’ve only been blogging for just a little while, but these all ring so true! I think one of the most important ones is the fact that “big” bloggers won’t talk back to you. I started blogging back in late December, and was so intimidated to comment on other people’s posts because I thought they’d never respond, but lo and behold, there are some bloggers I’d consider “big” who are super sweet people and I love talking to them and actually think I’m cool enough to follow (what why how).

    And, yes, to the low expectations! I had super low expectations coming in, and I’m still in awe that so many people like and comment on my posts and follow me! I definitely didn’t think I’d get to that level within a month.

    Blogging is so much work, ha, but it’s fun work??? I usually hate working hard, but when it comes to blogging, I love it because I’m doing and putting effort into something that I enjoy and I think other people enjoy, which definitely makes it worth it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg yeah it’s so daunting to talk to all the “big” bloggers with more experience! It took so much courage to actually reach out and hope that they’d respond haha. But seriously everyone is so nice I can’t imagine now not talking to them because of their successful blog aha. 😂
      Right?? It’s still kind of surreal omg. Though I haven’t read or followed your blog for long, your blog posts seem amazing aha you’ll just keep getting more love. 💘
      And trueeeee! It takes so much work but I put in the effort because I love it and it’s something that I’m dedicated to. It’s definitely worth it! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I think most of us can relate to this post. Blogging is a lot of work and takes up a lot of time. Sometimes other things get in the way, but that’s all right. I think the blogosphere is generally very understanding about real-life commitments coming before blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really is! So much effort and TIME goes into blogging. It can be really difficult to manage all the time, but it’s still so worth it! I haven’t blogged since forever and only recently returned but the blogging community has been so wonderful and you’re right, so understanding. ❤️ We’re so blessed to have a group of people so caring and lovely with us!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Haha, wonderfully hilarious post, Analee! (And welcome back! /hugs/) Of these, I think the one about becoming a popular blogger has crossed my mind the most. I don’t think I’ll ever reach a point where I’ll have obtained that status because I am just so slack with promoting my blog on my other social media accounts. XD But that’s totally okay! There are other ways to use this hobby and feel one has achieved something, you know? 😀 Anyway, again, happy to have you back, lovely. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh thank you Summer!! It’s so great to hear from you. ❤️❤️ Aha me too! It’s hard not to think about how ‘successful’ or popular our blog is, but at the end of the day I just want to be happy with how I’m doing (and I have so much to be happy about!) Thank you once again, I’m so glad to be back! I’ve missed talking to you aha. 😘

      Like

  15. Nice post! Love the tone of it. You seem like a happy person! Hahaha. I have to admit, Expectation #7 is totally a myth (for the most part). The only thing I notice about big bloggers is they don’t really interact FIRST. They are very responsive, yes. But due to their busy schedules and active notification alerts, it seems rare when I get a comment/like from a BIG blogger. Ya know? Anyways, I enjoyed reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! ❤ Ahah I’m so glad you think so, I like to think I’m a pretty happy person. 🙈😊 Oh that’s true, they are SO sweet but aren’t always the first to interact, which I understand! Ahah same here, the only time it really happens is when I comment first on their blog. YAY I’m glad you enjoyed this!! ❤

      Like

Leave a taste of your thoughts!