Thank god it’s finally May! // 2017 May Book Releases

Guess who’s going broke once again this month??

(Hint: it’s meeeeeeee.)

It’s that time of year again, and I’m actually super excited for the end of the month for once, because my classes have FINALLY ENDED. *cue cheers* 4-month summer, yessssss! I am taking summer courses though (ughhh) so that will still take up my time, but STILL. SUMMER.

Anyway, the end of a month bringing the start of a new one, and with that brings NEW BOOKS. *squeals* and also *cries because this human read only 5 books this month and can’t keep up* SO MANY BOOKS I can’t wait to read omg. Let’s just get right into the books so I don’t go onto a 500-word intro.

May 2

Avenged by Amy Tintera (Ruined #2): I ADORED RUINED SO MUCH. I need to return to my preciousssss children!! ❤

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (ACOTAR #3): PREPARE TO HAVE YOUR HEART STOMPED ON. It’s releasing in like 2 days?!! (But sidenote I’ve heard it has some really problematic things in it and now I’m scared and sad…)

The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan (The Trials of Apollo #2): I really liked the first book! I don’t remember it very much (nothing new, hi, I’m a goldfish.) but yayyy for another Riordan book!

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #3): I would like to be overwhelmed with all the adorable feels, YES PLEASE.

How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake: I’ve seen this around but I can’t remember what it’s about but WISHES. It’s probably some symbolic meaning for something but whatever. It sounds really good!

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate: Heard so much about this one, apparently it has DIVERSITY and it’s about singing which I am an expert on, obviously. So this is my book. I am so not an expert but shhhhh. I’m trying to sound convincing.

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman: Cute contemporary which also had diversity rep like a black love interest with a disability and lesbian friends.

Cold Summer by Gwen Cole: I can’t get over how pretttttttttttttttttty the cover is omg.

Dreamfall by Amy Plum (Dreamfall #1): I haven’t read anything by Amy Plum, but I know many people who’ve loved her books!

May 4

Release by Patrick Ness: Two words for you; Patrick. Ness. (!!!)

The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember: The Little Mermaid retelling!! (Mermaidsssssss. I haven’t read a book with mermaids in a very very long time. Disgrace.) And also lots of diversity, f/f romance,

Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell (Spellslinger #1): It’s a cool cover!! And I like the author’s name haha.

The Fallen Children by David Owen: Firstly children fall down all the time I mean they might have a few bruises but otherwise nothing special???  I have zero idea what this is about, so. Um.

May 9

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy: I really liked Dumplin’ when I read it last year, so I’m interested in seeing how this one turns out!

It’s Not Like It’s a Secret by Misa Sugiura: I’ve read some really great reviews on this one and it’s a diverse read featuring a gay Japanese-American protag. It may also be #ownvoices, but I’m not sure. But it sounds amazing!

It Started With Goodbye by Christina June: Another cute contemporary! (I’m pretty sure, anyway.)

Dear Reader by Mary O’Connell: Gilmore Girls with magical realism?? YES PLEASE.

Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman: How many times can I say cute contemporary without sounding repetitive? I wish I could say something else but I mean… either way, it sounds like a fun story!

That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim: Friendship! Diversity! Pakistani-American protagonist + Muslim American characters! And exploration of love, identity and relationships. SO EXCITED OMG.

May 16

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh: OH LOOK IT’S RENEE AHDIEH, pff, she’s only like one of my favourite authors of ever?? This is a retelling of Mulan with Japanese mythology and omg I CAN’T. I NEED THIS. ❤

The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye (The Crown’s Game #2): It’s almost hereeeee YAY. I loved the first book and needed this, like last year??! Apparently it’s really good so I am super excitedddddd.

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich: A story about a love triangle that I’m actually… looking forward to?? And many other people too??? *cue shock* This book actually seems like it could put an interesting twist on the trope and be interesting and I WANT.

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord: I finished her other novel, When We Collided, a while back and liked it well enough so I’m curious to see how this book is!!

Seeker by Veronica Rossi (Riders #2): I’ve had the first book on my TBR for a while but never got around to it! I hope whoever is following this series likes this one though.

Grit by Gillian French: Zero clue what it’s about, but it looks good! I’m so shallow when it comes to books, I know…

May 23

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare (The Dark Artifices #2): I’ve waited enouuuuuuugh!! I really can’t wait for this omgggg why is it still so far away?

The Gauntlet by Megan Shepherd (The Cage #3): I liked the look of the series but haven’t gotten around to it.

In a Perfect World by Trish Doller: I’d have all the time in the world to read books and also have a ton of money to buy said books. But it’s not a perfect world and so now I’m sad?? But I digress. This sounds interesting!

May 30

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon: Diversity and a story about two Indian-American teens and arranged marriage!! It sounds utterly adorable and I CAN’T WAIT.

Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B. Larson: PRETTY COVER! No idea what it’s about. But looooook at the cover! #helpful

Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia: I adored her previous book, Made You Up [review here] and I am suuuuuuper excited for this one!

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo: Diversity!! Korean main character and a super cute contemporary romance. Happy Analee!

Romancing the Throne by Nadine Jolie Courtney: This sounds like fun! So much adorableness is written on this cover!

Spectacle by Rachel Vincent (Menagerie #2): I don’t know much of what this is about but it has a character named Delilah and now I kind of want to know more.. (Yes I’m that obsessed with ADSOM. Hushhhh. Yes I know they’re not the same characters…)


What books are you looking forward to this month??! THERE ARE SO MANY I KNOW mwa ha ha you must choose. Also look at me, keeping this post at under 1200 words! (it’s at 1152.) *Gives self a cookie* This day should be documented. (Seeing how my last post was like, 2000+ words oops. Is this a normal thing, or…?)

I hope you guys are all having a super amazing day!