Top 10 Tuesday #3 (April 21): Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Authors

The time has come for another Top 10 Tuesday! This week’s theme is All-time favourite authors! This REALLY kills me and I just can’t decide so I’m going to narrow it down to authors in the Paranormal/Fantasy genre or Dystopia, mostly YA. (Press the images for a better, larger view of the pictures.)

As usual, in no particular order:

1. J.K. Rowling

Two words: Harry. Potter. ❤ There really isn’t much more to say other than that. Harry Potter was a thrilling ride that I loved, forever captivating me in the wizarding world.

2. Jennifer L. Armentrout

I love Jennifer Armebtrout’s writing! There’s always an awesome plot, with steamy romance and humorous charters which just makes me want to read her stuff more and more. These are only some of her works:

3. Cassandra Clare

She’s another author who’s writing I love. Her character are always alive and useful, and the world she’s created is amazing. Shadowhunters rule! I loved The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices, can’t wait ’till The Dark Artifices trilogy comes out! ❤

4. Marie Lu

I’ve read only Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy (although I’m planning on reading Her book The Young Elites as well) but her books have captivated me enough to put her on this list. If you haven’t already, you should definitely read Legend!

5. Meg Cabot

You probably heard of this author through The Princess Diaries, but she has several other works that ultimately made Meg Cabot one of my favorite authors. I enjoyed The Princess Diaires series, however I prefer The Mediator series. I also really enjoyed her Airhead trilogy. Her Heather Wells series was quite enjoyable, as well as her stand-alone novels Pants on Fire and Teen Idol. I have yet to start her Queen of Babble trilogy. I’m looking forward to getting to it! 🙂

6. Suzanne Collins

How could I not put the author of The Hunger Games on this list? The Hunger Games was awesome and one of the few movie adaptations other than HP done well. 🙂

7. Rick Riordan

I loved Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, as well as The Heroes of Olympus series! I also enjoyed his Kane Chronicles trilogy as well! They were all fast-paced, adventurous, and best of all, involved mythology! I can’t wait for the first book in Riordan’s newest series, Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard, which is named The Sword of Summer. 🙂

8. Richelle Mead

I’ve read a lot of vampire-themed books, but Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy is the one most worth mentioning for this list. Richelle Mead’s writing is captivating, and I love her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series (what I’ve read of Bloodlines series, anyway.) Looking forward to reading her other series! Check out my reviews on the first two books of the VA series HERE and HERE. Definitely one of my favorite authors!

9. Kiera Cass

I loved Kiera Cass’s Selection series! Made for a sweet, romance with touches of dystopia flavoring, and an awesome read. Her books were all very well-written. Looking forward to The Heir!

10. C.C Hunter

C.C Hunter is a wonderful author who I feel is quite unrecognized. I have read all the books released in her two series; Shadow Falls and Shadow Falls: After Dark, and I loved both of them! I definitely recommend her works, one of my favorite authors!

There are so many other authors I would love to put on the list, but alas, I must stop there. A few honorable mentions go to: Jane Austen (even though she isn’t a YA fantasy, paranormal or dystopia author), John Green, Veronica Roth, Marissa Meyer, Colleen Houck and Becca Fitzpatrick. They are very good writers and definitely should be recognized.

Anyway, that concludes this list! I don’t know how I would ever have stopped if I did a list on all-time favorite authors! 🙂 So what are your Top 10 All-time favorite authors? Or if you’re like me, All-time favorite authors of YA fantasy, paranormal, etc.? Comment your thoughts below! Or if you participate in this meme, post your link so I can come check it out!

Happy listing!

-A

P.S. For some more Book Snacks Fun, check out this week’s Teaser Tuesday!

The Selection by Kiera Cass | Book Review

(The Selection #1)

Published: March 26, 2012

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


My Rating:  4.5 Stars4.5/5 (Amazing)

Book Information

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre(s): YA Romance, Dystopia

Page Count: 327

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 0062059947


 

The rating for this one was a tough one, between 4 stars and 4.5. Because The Selection was easily an amazing read, especially for fans of YA Romance and Dystopia-ish books (like me). But ultimately, I decided to go higher, because although there were some faults to the book, it was an overall really enjoyable read, and it was amazing.

The Selection was a magical read, and stuck with me long after I finished the book. I have to say, the first thing that made me pick up this book was the cover. It’s GORGEOUS!!! I’m just so in love with that dress!!! Just look at it!

The Selection_bookcover

Okay. Fan-girling over dress terminated. (Not really…you can’t get over that dress 😉

Read More »