Fire in Frost by Alicia Rades | Book Review

(Crystal Frost #1)

Published: March 13th 2015

Synopsis:

Crystal Frost has spent her whole life believing she’s ordinary, and her mother has long held the secret of her heritage. When Crystal begins seeing the ghost of a dead classmate, her life spirals out of control. She’s faced with the threat that everyone will find out she’s a freak, as if the struggle to figure out her new-found abilities wasn’t enough pressure. Crystal has to find some way to save the people who have come to her for help all while trying to keep her abilities a secret. Will she be able to fulfill these overwhelming demands while solving the mystery that is the ghost of Olivia Owen?


Fire in Frost_bookcover
Add to Goodreads

My Rating: 3.5 stars 3.5/5 (Liked it)

Book Information

Publisher: PaperPlane Publishing

Genre(s): Young-adult, paranormal

Page Count: 244

Format: e-book


Note: I received a free digital copy of this book thanks to Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Hi there! Today I have a book review on Fire in Frost by Alicia Rades, an interesting paranormal book involving ghosts.

Quick Summary

When Crystal Frost finds out she’s psychic, her whole world spins out of control, especially when the ghost of a dead classmate, Olivia, appears to her, asking her to help someone. All the while Crystal must make sure no one finds out about her special abilities. Will Crystal be able to solve the mystery of Olivia, and stay on top of it all?

Plot

I haven’t been reading much ghost stories these days, and this book seemed like it would be a good pick for that aspect. However, while it was a pleasant enough story with an intriguing plot, I probably would’ve enjoyed it more had there been more mystery, and had the ghost aspect been taken more seriously. I wasn’t able to take it seriously until further into the book. That being said, I did enjoy reading the book; the storyline was pretty interesting and held my attention.

Characters

I really liked the characters as well. Crystal, the main character, who is hesitant of her newfound abilities throughout the story. She was a good protagonist, and it was fun to see her discover how much she could do. Of course, I didn’t approve of some of her decisions, but that didn’t get in the way of how much I liked her. I also liked Olivia, the ghost, as she’s a very good person who cares a lot for her friends and I sympathize with the way she died. She also played a pretty important part in the story. Overall, the characters were decent and I liked them.

Writing Style

The writing style is very pleasant! It’s what got me more into the story, and I think the book was very well-written. I would’ve liked it a bit more had there been more of a mysterious kind of tone to it, but still, I liked the writing style.

Overall…

Not exactly what I expected, but an enjoyable story all the same! It wasn’t that mysterious or suspenseful as I hoped, but I liked the characters for the most part, and the ghost part of it was nice too, once it was taken more seriously. Would I recommend this? I suppose so, if you’re looking for a realitvely light read (at least as far as ghosts and paranormal books go). I liked this book, but maybe you’ll like it even more.

Eat this soon, or eat this later, it’s up to you!

-A

2 thoughts on “Fire in Frost by Alicia Rades | Book Review

Leave a taste of your thoughts!

