Reader Problems Book Tag

Hey! For some more Book Snacks fun, here’s another tag! I found I really enjoy doing book tags, so here we go! Thanks to Casey @ inspiredbythepages for introducing this tag to me! (Who found it on another blog, and so on.)

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

There’s not really a specific way on how I choose what to read next. I’d usually go with the books that were recommended to me several times first, or based on the genre. For example, if I’m in a romance mood, I’d head to my choices of YA Romance novels on my TBR. If I feel like wanting some blood and gore, I’d go to YA Fantasy or Paranormal, a thriller, etc.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

Ugh, this always pulls an internal battle. I made a vow to myself to always finish a book if I’ve started it! I feel like if I started it, I should give it a fair chance to win me over. I mean, I can’t just abandon it! Haven’t broken this vow recently yet, however I think I’ve broken it a few times before. But I’m usually committed to any book I start, unless it’s really bad or it doesn’t interest me. 🙂

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Luckily, this isn’t usually a problem for me. I usually try to catch up if I’m far behind by binge-reading, but I mostly set goals I’m pretty sure I’m gonna be able to keep. 😉

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I have a panic attack! Naw, just kidding. If it’s a very important series to me, then I would go and buy the matching covers, obviously. Otherwise I’d probably hide them away because I’d throw them across the room because they were unsatisfactory. 🙂 I like my things to be perfect, but I’d rather spend my money on getting new books than replacing covers of old books.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I usually can find at least one friend to bond with, but if not, I always have my blogging friends! 🙂 I’m almost always assured that there will at least be one person who agrees with me, and if they don’t, I respect their opinion, but if they do, well, fangirl moment! ❤

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I cry, of course! Although I don’t cry easily, and it would have to be pretty damn sentimental for me to start crying. But if I do cry, I’d definitely cry, no matter where it is. I have yet to meet a book that reduced me into extreme tears, but oh well. Maybe someday… 😀

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads?

I would probably attempt to skim the first book, but end up re-reading it! 🙂 Often I just skip right to re-reading the book because I know while ‘skimming’ it I’ll end up reading basically the whole thing, so why not hurry the process?

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Oh this one’s a tough one! I have a weakness for saying ‘yes’ to people even though what I really want to do is refuse. When it comes to books, I try to be more stronger, but my weakness just comes spitting out yes for me. Usually though only people I trust ask me to borrow my books, so it’s not really a problem if I say yes because I know they’ll take good care of it. If the book is a new one, I’m particularly hesitant, but, like with everything, I end up saying yes anyway. *Looks down shamefaced.*

9. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Lucky for me, I usually don’t go on a reading slump, but when I do, I go grab a book on my all time favorite shelf and re-read it. It pretty much does the trick. If even that doesn’t cure my slump, I might go read a review from someone–someone who I know I can trust for a good book recommendation–for a 5-star book and try that and see if it cures my slump. If not, well…that sucks, ’cause I’m out of ideas. But those two ideas will most likely do the trick. 😉

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I only buy a few, because I’m saving up on gift cards and stuff so I can go nuts on books another time when I’m really desperate. Since I already have a 1000+ more books to read, I’m sure to stay entertained with the few new books I bought.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

If it’s a sequel or the last in a trilogy/series, I’d read it right away, because I’d probably be hyperventilating at that point because I was dying to read it. If it’s a debut novel in a series, I’d also probably read it right away. Anything other than that, like a stand-alone or something, I’d probably take my time. Mostly the new books sit on my shelf only for a few days or 1-2 weeks before I get to them. Hopefully the former option. 🙂

Hope you enjoyed reading this tag as much as I did answering it! I hereby tag anyone who’s reading this tag who wants to do their own! I’d love to read your answers if you choose to do so!

Happy tagging, and don’t forget to continue to snack on some awesome books!

-A

Leave a taste of your thoughts!

