The Selection by Kiera Cass | Book Review

(The Selection #1)

Published: March 26, 2012

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


My Rating:  4.5 Stars4.5/5 (Amazing)

Book Information

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre(s): YA Romance, Dystopia

Page Count: 327

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 0062059947


 

The rating for this one was a tough one, between 4 stars and 4.5. Because The Selection was easily an amazing read, especially for fans of YA Romance and Dystopia-ish books (like me). But ultimately, I decided to go higher, because although there were some faults to the book, it was an overall really enjoyable read, and it was amazing.

The Selection was a magical read, and stuck with me long after I finished the book. I have to say, the first thing that made me pick up this book was the cover. It’s GORGEOUS!!! I’m just so in love with that dress!!! Just look at it!

The Selection_bookcover

Okay. Fan-girling over dress terminated. (Not really…you can’t get over that dress 😉

The Selection had one of those qualities where you pick up a book, read a few chapters, then tell yourself you will stop after a few more. And a few more. And a few more. And a few more, just until you’re finished. I can’t pinpoint exactly the ‘why’ this happens, it just does. But it could definitely be attributed to (for me, anyway):

-Plot. This book is categorized as a dystopia and romance, but other than the caste system, and a government/royalty ruling over a country, and rebels, The Selection is not as much a dystopia as a romance. But that was all right with me. The romance part of it was just so sweet, and the story was written in such a way I just got wrapped up in it.

-Love triangle. I really enjoyed the love triangle. Say what you will about love triangles, the love triangle in The Selection really worked for the good here. It added more complexity to the plot and characters, not to mention that the love interests in the love triangle are swoon-worthy characters! Maxon’s sweet and caring nature is really cute, and Aspen’s ‘protecting the damsel’ thing works for him too (although I’m Team Maxon).

-Characters. America was a strong female lead, though she has her faults. She comes off as a bit whiny in some parts, and her confusion between Aspen and Maxon was also a bit annoying some times, but overall she was a good protagonist.

At the end of the book, I was dying to know more. Luckily for me, the second book, The Elite was released by the time I started reading The Selection, so I didn’t have to wait long to jump on the next book! If you like romance in a dystopian setting, love triangles, and a unputadownable (even though that’s not a word) book, The Selection is definitely a recommended read!

As for movies and stuff, I think a film company purchased rights for The Selection, but I don’t think a movie will be made anytime soon 😦 Rumors of a show were passed around, but apprently that cancelled after a couple of episodes. I hope they make a movie of The Selection! But for now, here’s a book trailer. Check it out!

Hope you’re interested! Let’s go eat!

-A

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass | Book Review

Leave a taste of your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s